Stolen Moments

On Monday nights, I get home from teaching my night class at 9:30, and Mister gets up to go to work at 10:30. Tonight, he got up about an hour early, and after getting dressed, he had a little extra time. He fed the dogs for me, and refilled the ice cube tray. We took a little time to stand in the kitchen and talk about our days. He told me about some news he heard on the radio. I reminded him to call about his insurance. He asked me to pick up some more of his favorite soda. I shared a funny story from work. When it was time for him to go to work, he told me he hoped I had a good night sleep, and I wished him a good night at work. We gave each other a long hug and a deep kiss, and off he went.

It was the best part of my day.

Before we got married, back when I would imagine married life, this was not the type of thing I imagined. I imagined date nights and exciting trips, and activities, and romance. Instead, we are often ships passing in the night, but while I miss him very much, I am not unhappy in our life together either. It’s in those little comfortable moments of standing in our kitchen and sharing pieces of our lives and our home that I feel very close to him. I am his helpmeet; we are a team. I always joke that it’s me and him against the world, and he writes on almost every card, we make a great team.

Lysa TerKeurst shared on the Proverbs 31 page the other day that “the devil calls our attention to the thing that is wrong to distract our focus from all the things that are right.” I thought that was so profound. It would be so easy to be upset and angry about the days when he DOESN’T fill the ice trays for me, or about all the times we don’t get to spend time together. However, instead I choose to relish this small moment in the kitchen, or the fact that Mister likes me to let him know when I get safely home, or how sweet he is to my pets. No one is perfect, and there are so many precious memories and moments to find happiness in.

Here’s to cozy moments in the kitchen, and the ability to appreciate them.

One thought on “Stolen Moments

  1. Reblogged this on Jarring Life and commented:

    Sadly, I’ve been unable to go out to the farm lately, first to being sick, and then due to working late. I felt inspired to write some on my other blog, Resurrecting June, which is about trying to be a Proverbs 31 Wife. If you are interested, here is yesterday’s post.

Leave a Reply

