A Close Watch on This Heart of Mine

I am rereading the Bible, and I came across this last night in Malachi. This is The Message translation:

““I hate divorce,” says the God of Israel. God-of-the-Angel-Armies says, “I hate the violent dismembering of the ‘one flesh’ of marriage.” So watch yourselves. Don’t let your guard down. Don’t cheat.”

There is no surprise that God doesn’t like divorce. But this is what I like: “So watch yourselves. Don’t let your guard down.”

AMEN! I say.

I am a very strict believer in the appropriateness of male-female friendships when one is married. Of course, it is fine to have work friend, to talk to people at work or at church, etc. But I do not really like close friendships of the opposite gender: having lunch together, etc. You will not find me doing such a thing, unless it is a large group of people together. It is my goal for my husband to never have to endure any gossip of his wife being unfaithful.  He may have to look for clean socks, but never his wife’s fidelity!

It is too easy to start off as friends, and then realize there are feelings there. It is too easy to complain to that friend at work about our spouse, and then one things leads to another. It is even easier with the constant presence of social media to have in depth conversations with that person rather than spending that time and energy developing a closeness with our husbands or wives.

It isn’t enough not to cheat or actively seek out other partners. We have to guard ourselves and live above reproach.

Leave a Reply

